Investors are entering 2019 with an expectation that the US Federal Reserve is looking likely to raise its benchmark interest rate two more times this year. While the four rate hikes in 2018 had been challenging for fixed income assets, we expect fixed income performance to improve in 2019.

In the current low but rising interest rate environment, global growth momentum is moderating but remains positive. A strong job market and relatively healthy household balance sheets are supporting US consumers. Relatively low corporate financing costs and strong profits are helping to sustain US capital expenditure growth.

  • Securitised credit, such as asset-backed securities (ABS), is still supported by the current US consumer confidence.
  • High-yield bonds also remain resilient. Credit fundamentals are improving where strong US earnings growth is feeding into lower leverage and higher interest coverage ratios.

When the global economy moves deeper into the late cycle, the bouts of market volatility from heightened trade tensions and monetary policy normalisation suggest that investors may want to focus more on the search of income than on purely capital gains.

Having said that, being predominantly risk-off could be a bad idea as this tends to be detrimental to returns. A slow rotation from an aggressive portfolio to a more defensive portfolio is likely the more suitable answer. A common defensive move to consider is a greater investment weighting in fixed income.

While the current global growth momentum continues to benefit some of these fixed income assets, investors should still adopt a more agile approach with the flexibility to diversify across different fixed income asset classes1 as the economic cycle evolves.

1 The above recommendation is for illustrative purposes only, exact allocation of portfolio depends on each individual’s circumstances.

Investment involves risk. Investors should consult professional advice before investing. The opinions and views expressed here are those held by the author as of the date of this publication, which are subject to change and are not to be taken as or construed as investment advice.

Our Focus Funds
Related Articles
View all

踏入2019年,市場一般預期美國聯儲局會在年內再上調基準利率兩次。聯儲局於去年四度加息,對固定收益帶來若干挑戰,但我們預期該資產類別的表現今年將有所改善。

在目前利率偏低但正趨升的環境中,環球經濟增長動能雖然轉趨溫和,但仍然正面。美國勞工市場強勁,加上家庭財務狀況相對健康,均支持美國消費市道。與此同時,企業融資成本偏低加上利潤不俗,有助美國資本開支增長得以持續。

  • 目前美國消費者信心良好,資產抵押證券(ABS )等證券化信貸亦因而受惠。
  • 美國高收益債券表現仍然堅韌,原因是美國的盈利增長強勁,令槓桿率回落而利息覆蓋率有所提高,信貸市場的基本因素正在改善。

隨著環球經濟步入週期較後階段,貿易糾紛加劇及貨幣政策重拾正軌,均為市場帶來波動,投資者或許更希望尋求收益,而非著眼於資本增長。

儘管如此,迴避風險亦非明智之舉,原因是此策略傾向損害長線投資回報。在較為進取的投資組合中逐漸增加防守資產的配置,或許更為合適。可參考的常見做法之一,是提升固定收益在組合中的比重。

雖然目前環球的增長勢頭,仍然利好部分上述固定收益資產,但隨著經濟週期推進,投資者宜保持靈活,分散投資於不同的固定收益資產類別1

1 以上建議僅供參考,並可因應個別投資者的需要及市場狀況而轉變。

投資涉及風險。投資者應在投資前先徵詢專業顧問的意見。上述僅為本文件製作時之意見及觀點,可隨時變動,該資訊不應被視作或理解為任何投資建議。

精選基金
相關文章
查看所有